Sign up for our newsletter

Stage 5 gallery: Lorena Wiebes takes second stage win at Tour de France Femmes

28 Jul 2022

Team DSM’s Lorena Wiebes secured a triumphant victory on Stage 5 of the Tour de France Femmes into Saint-Dié-des-Vosges today.

Wiebes, who won Stage 1 and wore the first maillot jaune of the race, emerged from the bunch and powered ahead of Elisa Balsamo and general classification leader Marianne Vos to cross the line first.

Wiebes said, ‘I’m really happy… today was a team effort and that is most important. It’s special to win two stages.’

A four-woman group comprising Victoire Berteau (Team Cofidis), Antri Christoforou (Human Powered Health), Anya Louw (AG Insurance–NXTG Team) and Emily Newsom (EF Education–Tibco-SVB) formed the day’s breakaway, their advantage swelling to 3min 45sec before gradually being reduced halfway through the 176km route.

With 45km until the finish, a large crash in the middle of the peloton took down dozens of riders.

Team Movistar’s Emma Norsgaard was the worst affected and ultimately had to abandon the race as a result.

Berteau and Christoforou distanced their breakaway companions to stay ahead of the peloton but were reeled back in with just 3km to go.

Trek-Segafredo’s Ellen van Dijk set a fierce pace yet teammate Elisa Longo Borghini took a wrong turn when taking over at the front to lead out world champion Elisa Balsamo.

No-one could match the pace of Wiebes as she launched her sprint, raising her arms in celebration as Balsamo finished second with Vos third.

Relive the day through the lens of Russ Ellis (Cycling Images).

It's Wiebes’ world and we’re all living in it.

Many hours can be spent by the side of the road waiting for a glimpse of a peloton.

Perhaps none more historic than the Tour de France Femmes.

At 176km, Stage 5 marked the longest day of the race.

Even in a peloton of multicoloured kits, the yellow jersey of Marianne Vos shines bright.  

It's easy to spot the Belgian tricolour too. Kim De Baat (Plantur Pura) won the road race championships last month. 

When it came to an anticipated sprint finish, a number of big names such as Wiebes, Vos, Balsamo and Maike van der Duin (Le Col-Wahoo) were in contention.

Riders had barely even crossed the line and Team DSM knew they had won.

No one could catch, let alone pass, the dominating force of Wiebes. And how great are those nails?

A large number of riders had been caught in a crash 45km prior, but only one (Movistar’s Emma Norsgaard) would abandon.

Human Powered Health’s Barbara Malcotti was disqualified beforehand due to receiving ‘irregular assistance’, or getting a bike change after a broken shifter in front of the bunch. 

All smiles after another day ticked off.

For all our coverage, head to our Tour de France hub